“It’s Time…”

OG Boo Dirty dropped his new mixtape “It’s Time” July 4th, featuring 12 certified street bangers mainly produced by Track Gordy, also known as Memphis Trackboy, and Ace C. This tape is dope, with hard tracks, heartfelt lyrics and a hood-trap flow. Though the mixtape only has two featured artists on the chorus of two songs, the mixtape is solid on it’s own. The entire mixtape is filled with deep pain and struggle that expresses loss, loyalty, love and dedication.

The first song, “Nobody”, features Akon on the chorus and is a great intro for the theme of the mixtape: It’s Time to make something happen because I can’t lose, I can’t fail. This song has a similar beat to the 90’s hip-hop song “I Got 5 on It” and when the song first comes on, you can’t help but start bobbing your head. The next two songs, “Get Shot” and “Shooter”, an encore from his previous mixtape Billionaire Dreams, are true hood bangers that compliment the intro song of how it is growing up in the hood and doing what you have to do to make it.

The song “Family” expresses devotion and allegiance for his friends who he considers to be his family. This is one of the songs that you can hear the loyalty he has for his friends and the dedication they have towards him. This is a great prelude to the song “Thinking Bout U”, a song filled with pain and sadness commemorating the loss of his family member to the penal system and the death of another.

“Cool” is another encore from Billionaire Dreams, which is the perfect prelude to the song “Side Bitch”. Produced by Track Gordy, this track has an Isley Brother’s type of vibe that you can’t help but groove to.

The last song on the mixtape is probably my favorite. It expresses street life and his desire to get out of the game and give up. In an interview for Southern Xsposure Magazine several years ago, OG Boo Dirty expressed how he wanted to make it out of the streets, but he had to stay in the streets to make it happen. This song, or better yet this entire mixtape, expresses that dream and concept in it’s entirety.

All in all, I rate this mixtape 4.5 out of 5, only because I wanted to hear more hood music of his style that I’ve grown so fond of. Check out the mixtape for yourself, available below for your listening pleasure. Download or Listen Now

-RaeShantael (July 4, 2017)

OG Boo Dirty – It’s Time

  1. Nobody ft. Akon
  2. Get Shot
  3. Shooter
  4. No Reason ft. Webb Star
  5. Looking For Yo Hoe
  6. Family
  7. Thinking Bout U
  8. Cool
  9. Side Bitch
  10. Lil Bish
  11. Wanna Be Rich
  12. Streets Too Much